Google Patent’s My Invention to Simplify Reviews

Google has just published a patent for a process to simplify creating reviews using a smart-phone.  Bill Slawski describes the patent on his SEO by the Sea blog.

In simple terms, the idea would be to have UPC codes printed on something like restaurant menus.  Then you use the camera on your phone to photograph the code which automatically identifies the restaurant and lets you link your review to the restaurant.  The use of the code and the camera is intended to be faster and more convenient than having to enter the name of the restaurant manually.  The broad goal is to make it very easy for users to provide feedback.

And as Mike Blumenthal pointed out in a tweet, one nice thing about this process is that you would actively engage local merchants in the process.  Of course, that’s also the biggest hurdle — you have to get all those businesses to use your code.   Fortunately, there are alternative ways to simplify the process.  More on that in a future blog post.

Here’s the funny thing.  I remember discussing this concept with a colleague sitting in an airport in the fall of 2007.  Google filed their patent in March of 2008.  Of course, I didn’t disclose anything and I didn’t file a patent of my own.  So, Google wins.  And my generally ambiguous feeling about the worth of these kinds of patents continues.  I guess I need to either write my own patents or disclose the ideas on my blog in sufficient detail to prevent patents.

0 Responses to “Google Patent’s My Invention to Simplify Reviews”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

